The Door in Front of Me…

      Actually there is a door behind me, too. I’m not interested in that door, though. The door in front of me is made of a dark chocolate colored wood…with a slight red sheen. It’s old, but in very good condition…someone has cared for it and it is well made, sturdy, solid. It’s carved, but not ornate, a simple geometric pattern. Though there is something a bit fanciful about it…triangles. The knocker is very exciting. Pewter, perhaps nickel, it is in the shape of a jester’s face. I love jesters!

I’m not afraid of the door…or what may lay behind it. I run my hands along the wood…it has a very nice feel to it. Bold, I press the flat of my palms on its surface. I feel a slight vibration, but whether that is the door or me, I’m not certain. I trace my finger along the face of the jester…what a happy expression he wears. His mouth forms an open smile…beckoning…teasing.

          “Listen to what is inside of me.”

Startled, I instantly drop my hand from his face. His pewter lips move! His silver eyes alight with a charming waywardness. And though I am intrigued, I take a step back.

          “We’ll have none of that! Step forward, woman, and greet me properly.”

I blurt out,

          “Greet you?”

          “I’m not just a bit of metal, you know! I have feelings, I have soul, and I have power.”

Power, indeed!

What is the ‘proper’ greeting in this circumstance? At a loss, I fall back on the standard,

          “Erm, my name is Intricate. Intricate Knot, and I am very pleased to meet you, Sir.”

          “Just call me Jasper. I don’t stand on ceremony. In fact,” he chuckled, “I don’t actually ‘stand’ at all. More like sit or placed, never can figure out which! Perhaps, I’m both sitting and placed, or I was placed in order that I may sit. Placed or no, I am not without my talents, though.” And with that stated, his face grew before me. No longer knocker size (about the length of my hand), but now a full, human-size face!

It is very good that I am somewhat accustomed to magical happenings, otherwise I would have been shocked speechless and may have even giving in to a fainting spell! But no, I would never faint…I might miss out on something wonderful. Impressed with his talent, I did not hesitate to praise,

          “My, my, you are gifted beyond measure, Jasper. I am more than pleased to meet you, I’m tickled.”

A low, but somehow friendly growl emitted from the back of his metallic throat. Very sexy, though I had no designs on him, I can assure you.

          “Mmm, you make me wish that my talents extended further, Lady Knot.”

I rushed to deny,

          “Oh, I’m not a ‘lady!’ I’m not any such thing!”

He peered at me intently, not seemingly convinced by my heartfelt denial,

          “You appear as a lady to me, but if you wish to be less formal, I’m certainly game. What shall I call you then?”

          “Call me Kit.”

          “Kit it will be. So, Kit, interested in what lay inside me?”

Hiding my enthusiasm and curiosity has never been one of my faults (though I do have many and quite trying ones at that!). I clasped my hands together and exclaimed,

          “Yes! Most definitely!”

          “Listen then to the revelry within,” the metal loop that sat beneath his neck knocked against the silver plate that was fastened to the door, “place your ear here, against my heart.”

Unable to contain my fascination, I did just as he asked. Bending slightly, I pressed my ear to Jasper’s ‘chest’ and listened. Music! Beautiful music! An orchestra perhaps, but then Arch would know what type much better than I. At the thought of him, my heart contracted with just a small wince of pain. I missed him.

Then I felt something, just at my belly button. The door knob! It had grown, considerably, and was gently prodding me.

          “Go on,” he teased. “Grasp my knob.”

I managed to control the blush that wanted to light my face,

          “Well-”

He wiggled his sharp pewter brows,

 “You know you want to.”

Hopelessly, I gave up trying to fight the blush,

 “You’re really quite naughty, aren’t you Jasper?”

He belted out a roar of laughter,

 “My darling Kit, we haven’t even got to real fun, yet!”

5 responses to “The Door in Front of Me…

Leave a comment