Brown

Never a frown

With Golden Brown

~”Golden Brown” by The Stranglers

I love the color brown, golden or otherwise.

It’s the color of many a tree trunk, leaves that have fallen, lots of rocks/stones/boulders, my desk, good clean dirt, and a large percentage of my wardrobe. It’s also the color of decay. But even with this on its resume, I still love the color brown.  And then there is my absolute favorite of favorites (outside of my husband, that is) and a lot of other peoples’ favorites, you-gotta-know-where-this-is-headed, the magnificent, the nearly magical and unearthly satisfying chocolate. Be still my heart.

For chocolate alone, brown would be one of my top three colors. Perhaps even number one. Depends on the day.

Here’s some brown for your day.

Beautiful fallen boulder that allowed me passage on our hike. Joshua Tree, California

Beautiful fallen boulder that allowed me passage on our hike.
Joshua Tree, California

 

Some kind of seed pod. Perhaps one of you nature buffs will know what it is. It caught my eye, but it didn't tell me what its called. That's okay. We didn't know each other very well. Joshua Tree, California

Some kind of seed pod. Perhaps one of you nature buffs will know what it is. It caught my eye, but apparently the feeling wasn’t mutual.  So, it didn’t tell me what its called. That’s okay. We didn’t know each other very well.
Joshua Tree, California

 

Decaying in blossom I spoted on a street corner. If I can have even half this grace in my aging process, I'd be thrilled. Nature does it all so uh, naturally. Nature doesn't fight the inevitable. Solvang, California.

Decaying blossom I spotted on a street corner. If I can have even half this grace in my aging process, it will be thrilling. Nature does it all so uh, naturally. Probably because nature doesn’t fight the inevitable. Or at least, not that we know of.
Solvang, California.

I didn’t manage to take any photos of chocolate. It doesn’t last long enough in our house to have its picture taken. True story.

22 responses to “Brown

    • Glad to hear some agreement on this! It just seems a bit ridiculous to fight it. Not that we shouldn’t remain active and a part of the world, just not worry so much over wrinkles and whatnots. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment, Gerard 🙂

  1. ’tis the season for brown and, once we get over losing the wonders of summer’s greens and autumn’s brilliance, the subtle beauty of brown takes hold…unless we are talking about chocolate in which case brown is beautiful year-round.
    I like all three images, but enjoy rock subjects so your intrusion abstract is my favorite.

    • Haha! Of course I could not agree more when it comes to chocolate, Steve. And yes, “’tis the season for brown” we might as well enjoy and it’s not like it’s a hardship. There is beauty everywhere.

      Glad you liked my images, especially the stone. That always means a lot coming from you, as you’re such a great photographer. 🙂

  2. how funny, I’m wearing a brown scarf today 🙂 and, I think I know what your mystery seed pod is….the one taken in Joshua Tree. If I’m not very much mistaken it’s a type of pomegranate? PLEASE don’t mention chocolate. Your fat friend hasn’t had so much as of a sniff of it for 5 months. Just the very mention of the divine brown stuff can tip me over the edge. There are a few brown things that i don’t love but I’ll leave you to guess what they might be 😉 xoxo

    • You are awesome. I never give up chocolate when I’m restricting myself. Even now with a dairy allergy, I refuse to give it up, though I’ve certainly reduced the amount I eat. I’d read somewhere that no matter what diet you’re on, you should never give up your “soul food,” which is different for everyone. I decided that my soul food is chocolate. It was a tough decision, as I pretty much love ALL food.

      Ohhhhh pomegranate! That makes sense. Phew, mystery solved! Thanks, Sis xoxoo

    • Oh, I didn’t think art nuveau, but you’re right! I loved seeing that flower. I thought it was so beautiful. You’re right about people not wearing that colour, but then, the flowers wear it so well, how can we possibly compare?

      Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂

  3. I like brown and all the shades of it… nice shots ☺ btw the fruit in the 2nd photo looks like Pomegranate (Punica granatum) ☺Have a nice weekend!

  4. Beautiful shots! And yes, that is a pomegranate, which you really ought to try some day. Such bold ruby red gorgeousness, matched only by its sweetness. There’s an art, though, to releasing the seeds, so watch out you don’t get stained 😉 Thanks for dropping by my blog 😉 Happy new year!

    • I actually love pomegranates, I’d just never seen them on the tree before! Hah! And you’re absolutely right they are not only beautiful, but so tasty. Thanks so much for stopping by and for your lovely comment.

Leave a Reply

