Looking Up at Ceilings

I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier
I’m gonna live like tomorrow doesn’t exist, like it doesn’t exist
I’m gonna fly like a bird through the night, feel my tears as they dry
I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier

~Sia, “Chandelier”

The Oaks Hotel ~ Alnwick, Northumberland

Dirty Dick’s Pub ~ Edinburgh

Wynn Hotel ~ Las Vegas

Edinburgh Castle ~ Edinburgh

Excalibur Hotel ~ Las Vegas

Sia’s painfully exquisite piece “Chandelier” is about partying to excess. I’m about as far away from a “party girl” as one can possibly be, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy a good chandelier. Given the opportunity (which has eluded me thus far), I doubt I’d swing from one, either. Doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate their beauty, regardless of how many (too-many-to-count) stares and murmurs I may encounter whilst looking up at ceilings.
17 responses to “Looking Up at Ceilings

    • Sparkly is one of my fav things. I do tend to let it distract me, though.

      I totally agree with you on the Wynn Hotel’s chandelier. That glass work is pretty cool. Thanks for stopping by Frankie!

  1. I love these photos! The oak one in Alnwick is gorgeous! So many people don’t stop and look up and see the beauty arond them and I’m glad you do IK! Keep being strange!

  2. These are GLORIOSO! I’m nuts about chandeliers. My favourite chandelier in the world (so far) is the one in the V&A museum in London. Designed by Dale Chihuly. You would LOVE it too! and there is a similar one, albeit on a smaller scale in Claridges Hotel. Really wacky and vibrant. You’d sure do yourself a mischief if you swung on it…..xoxo

  3. I remember tour guides in Germany telling us to “look up” all the time to see the art, chandeliers, etc. Now, I automatically look up when I go into a new room! I’m like you, I have never swung on one! Love your pictures, I think the Vegas one is the best. Looks all starry and spiderwebby. 🙂

    • That one does look a bit Halloweenie, doesn’t it? I can imagine all sorts of formal ghosts dancing around beneath it. That’s an entirely separate post!

      The tour guides in Germany are absolutely correct. I can’t imagine not looking up whenever I enter any room. Most of the time I have no idea what I expect to see up there, but I can’t help looking up. I’m glad I’m not alone.

  4. We all like to have a good time now and then, but I think swinging from the chandelier is off my list as well!
    It’s amazing how many beautiful things one can see by just looking up. So often we are stuck starting down, I know I’m guilty!
    These are all beautiful but I have to say my favorite is the Excalibur, it’s the star shapes. I’m a sucker for that! I also really like the one from the oaks, and the light it casts, kind of eery, but beautiful. xo

    • I suppose if we could get a guarantee that the chandelier wouldn’t come crashing down if we swung on it, I might indulge!

      I love the way light pours through those crystals. Very cool! And I agree Devin about looking up, whether indoors or out. There’s almost always something worth seeing up there.

Leave a Reply

