Quieting the Mind

“Smile, breathe, and go slowly.” 

~Thich Nhat Hanh

Point Dume, Malibu

Point Dume, Malibu

Beach at Point Dume

Beach at Point Dume, Malibu

Faeries Dancing on the Pacific

Faeries Dancing on the Pacific

Some sort of conference was going on down there. I didn't want to get in the middle of it, though. I tip-toed away.

Some sort of conference was going on down there. I didn’t want to get in the middle of it and carefully tip-toed away.

The seaweed looked like a primitive image of the Goddess to me.

The seaweed looked like a primitive image of the Goddess to me.

See what I mean? (Paleolithic, Woman of Willendorf, dated 200,000 -21,000 BCE)

See what I mean?
I found this image on ProProfs Flashcards (Paleolithic, Woman of Willendorf, dated 200,000 -21,000 BCE).

Horizon View

Sitting on the beach after our hike this fellow came by looking for treats. He posed and everything. Sadly, all I had was bottled water.

Sitting on the beach after my hike this fellow came by looking for treats.  Sadly, all I had was bottled water. Next time I’ll come better prepared.

A well-deserved sunset.

A well-deserved sunset.

21 responses to “Quieting the Mind

  1. These are really great pictures. I can definitely imagine quieting my mind in that environment. Looked like you were in a good spot. beautiful!

      • Haha! Isn’t that always the way? I’m quite famous for my typos, so not to worry.

        I’m glad you enjoyed the Elwood P. Dowd reference. One of my favorite films. I absolutely loved your waterfall images, which make me doubly pleased to read your compliment on my shots. Thanks, Steve!

  2. Glorious pictures indeed dearest Sis. How wonderful to see your pictures – it’s been far, far too long!

    The Goddess, my goodness, a mirror image! The conference was great – some of those birds look huge..what are they??

    The sunset is superb – what an amazing shot – sublime, perfect in every way.

    I loved the seagull coming to look for a treat. You can see it’s the end of the day by the light. I love that glow that is cast just before twilight, perfect golden light.

    And the shot with the waves coming into shore – the white water looks a little like coral..lovely.

    I want to see loads more of your pictures please?! xoxo

    • It was interesting spotting that conference. All the years I’ve spent bumming around beaches I’ve never seen anything like this before: sandpipers, seagulls, and (the large ones) pelicans all grouped together on a beach. Made me very suspicious. What were they plotting? Hmm….perhaps I shouldn’t have watched The Birds at such a young age!

      Yeah, I haven’t posted photos in a while. I’m back to rambling, so I’ll probably be throwing up some images now and again. It’s nice to be back. Glad you enjoyed, Sis. xoxo

  3. Wonderful photographs IK, just beautiful. Those birds are up to something, there’s no doubt about it. I too was scarred by the Hitchcock movie at a young age. I’m with Lottie, more photos!

  4. What happened to ‘birds of a feather’? Do the rules of the Universe not apply in your part of the world?

    Seriously………………. excellent pictures.

    Terry

Leave a Reply

