Spring Once Again vs Horticulture

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.”

~Margaret Atwood, “Bluebeard’s Egg”

If I weren’t a confirmed and *certified Brown Thumb, I might agree with the above quote. I don’t mind the smell of dirt (earth that is); however, it’s the planting of the seeds and then the maintaining of the little sproutlings that trips me up. I’m just no good at it. Since I have other skills (I make a mean lasagna), I do not let it get me down.

When it comes to flowers my preference are of the wild variety. Yeah, just let them sprout wherever they darn well please and grow at their own particular pace. Where do those wildflowers come from? I thought about it. And yes, I do realize there are science thingies called biology and horticulture. “Horticulture,” sounds a little snooty, doesn’t it? But that isn’t why it doesn’t interest me. No offense to any of you horticulturists out there (reading my blog?? Hah!), it just doesn’t interest me.  You may not have noticed, but I am much more fantasy, rather than science, orientated. So, I came up with my own version of what happens at spring.

You can find my tale on the Halloween Artist Bazaar site. Click on this link and it will take you straight to the short story “Spring Once Again.” Enjoy!

*Or was that certifiable? Ah well. Doesn’t really matter, does it?

Creepy Bunny Banner

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Halloween Artist Bazaar is hosting a fabulous giveaway for the spring. The winner will receive a package of indie artisan handcrafted collectibles worth over $200. You can sign up for FREE by clicking on the image below:

Halloween Artist Bazaar...we're not just for Halloween anymore (or ever)

Halloween Artist Bazaar…we’re not just for Halloween anymore (or ever)

9 responses to “Spring Once Again vs Horticulture

  1. Ah Ha! Now I can leave a comment – don’t you just love these eureka moments!

    Anyway dearest Sis, as I said in my email to you earlier- this is a most fabulous, magical story. I was enchanted from start to finish- It brought me back to being a child again and your vivid and wonderful imagination spoken through the characters had me entranced.

    There is something captivating and mysterious about forests and it seems that should one wander off the path anything can happen!

    All your stories are marvellous but this one is my favourite so far.

    This is sent to you with love and from under a pile of foils and bleach in a hairdressers deep in the heart of Jakarta xoxo

    • No way! I just left a comment on your blog! Cool. Now I’ll have go check my emails.

      I feel the very same way about forests. They are magical places. Thank you so much for wonderful words, Lottie. It means the absolute world to me that you enjoyed my tale. xoxoxo

  2. What a very enchanting tales you spin dear IK! I love the idea of you travelling under the earth to awaken the flowers for spring (do you ever bump into that darned groundhog on your travels?) And the painting by Angelique reflects the whimsy in the story. Congrats on another wonderful story

    ps: I love the dancing bunnies you have at the bottom of your post! They’re so cute with their little bunny heads bopping to and fro!

  3. Thanks for this story Knot;
    My earliest appreciation of forests came at age ten or so. Someone told me when scooping out acorns from the oak tree and sticking a straw through it that this then makes a good tobacco pipe. From then on, I and friends used to puff away in the forest on our ‘home-made’ pipes. A bad start.
    It all came good though when I gave up the habit some forty years later.
    I still carry fond memories of those times in the forest.

  4. My pipe making forests were in Holland. For real forests one has to go to Finland which I did back in 1965. The winter was cold with one day reaching -36c. During milder winter days H and I used to walk for hours and then make a fire and boil some tea.

Leave a Reply

